Rural Policy

Purpose of the group

The purpose of the Group is to inform MSPs and the wider Scottish Parliament about issues relating to rural policies and policy-making in Scotland.

Forthcoming meetings

Wednesday 3 December 2014 at 5.30pm in the James Clerk Maxwell Room (CR4). The topic for this meeting will be Employment, employability and skills in rural Scotland.

Wednesday 18 February 2015 at 5.30pm in the James Clerk Maxwell Room (CR4.The topic for this meeting will be Diversifying the rural economy.

Wednesday 20 May 2015 at 5.30pm in the James Clerk Maxwell Room (CR4). The topic for this meeting will be What is Scotland’s rural land for?

Next meeting: 07 October 2014

This meeting, including AGM, will be held at 5.30pm in the James Clerk Maxwell Room (CR4). The topic for this meeting will be Young people and rural Scotland


Further information relating to the CPG on Rural Policy is available here:


Annual Return/Report

Group Officers

Group Members

Non MSP Individuals

Iain Bolland

Maurice Gray

Vanessa Halhead

Drew Ratter

Patricia Neeson


SRUC - Secretariat

Aberdeen University

Age Scotland

Archaeology Scotland

Argyll and Bute Council

BIG Lottery

Buccleuch Estates

Buchan Dial-a-Community Bus

Built Environment Forum Scotland

Cairngorms National Park

Carnegie Trust UK

Borders Foundation for Rural Sustainability

Land Reform Review Group

Berwickshire Housing Association

Scottish Churches Housing Action

Coalfields Regeneration Trust

Community Land Scotland

Development Trusts Association Scotland

Consumer Focus Scotland

Community Retailing Network

Crichton Institute

Crown Estate Scotland

D&G Small Communities Housing Trust

High Life Highland

Dumfries and Galloway Council

Dumfries and Galloway LEADER

East Lothian Council


European Commission

Forestry Commission

Glasgow University

Halmyre Community Company


Highlands and Islands Enterprise

Highland Council

James Hutton Institute

Lamancha Community Association

Cairngorms National Park Authority

Landmaps Ltd

Lets Live Local



North Highland Initiative

Nourish Scotland


Plunkett Foundation

Plunkett Foundation Scotland


Eco-Schools Scotland

Newcastle University


Rural Development Council

Rural Housing Service

Rural Innovation


Scottish Borders Council

Scottish Churches Rural Group

Scottish Council for Voluntary Organisations

Scottish Countryside Alliance

Scottish Crofting Federation

Scottish Enterprise

Scottish Environment Protection Agency

Scottish Government

Scottish Land and Estates

Scottish Natural Heritage

Scottish Wildlife Trust

Soil Association

The Game and Wildlife Conservation Trust


Thrive for Business

Tods Murray LLP

Soirbheas Ltd

University of Highlands & Islands

University of St Andrews

University of Stirling

University of the West of Scotland

Upper Quartile

Whitehill Design Studios

Whitmuir Community Farm Ltd

Whitmuir Organics Limited

Woodland Trust Scotland

Get involved

Next meeting:
07 October 2014




Alex Fergusson MSP

Scottish Parliament
EH99 1SP

0131 348 5638