The Deputy Presiding Officers

The Presiding Officer is supported in her duties by two Deputy Presiding Officers. In May 2011, John Scott MSP and Elaine Smith MSP were elected to the two posts.

Presiding Officer Tricia Marwick MSP with Deputy Presiding Officers John Scott MSP and Elaine Smith MSPThe Deputy Presiding Officers have the same range of responsibilities when acting in place of the Presiding Officer, but both retain their party allegiance and will vote in the Chamber unless chairing proceedings. This means that they also support the Presiding Officer in her representation of the Scottish Parliament at home and abroad.

Related Links